# **Programme Schedule**

# **2<sup>nd</sup> International Conference on Mathematics Education**

Practical Strategies for Making Mathematics Accessible through Student

Engaged Learning







## **International Conference**

17 June, 2023

Organized by

Department of Mathematics Education, Central Department of Education,
Tribhuvan University
Council for Mathematics Education, Nepal
Mathkind, USA

### 2<sup>nd</sup> INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON MATHEMATICS EDUCATION

17 June 2023 (Ashadh 2, 2080)

Venue: Southwestern State College, Bashundhara Kathmandu Nepal

#### Practical Strategies for Making Mathematics Accessible through Student Engaged Learning

7:30 – 8: 30 Registration and Breakfast 8:30 – 9:45 Inauguration Program

#### **Inaugural Session (Details)**

1. Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Hira Bahadur Maharjan

2. Call Chief Guest and Guests on Dais and Greeting

2. Chief Guest: Hon'ble Minister Ashok Kumar Rai (Minister of Education, Science and Technology)

3. Special Guests: Prof. Dr. Dev Raj Adhikari

Prof. Shankar Prasad Bhandari Prof. Dr. Dharma Kanta Baskota

Dr. Mahashram Sharma (Chairperson, Nepal Examination Board)

Prof. Dr. Chitra Bahadur Budathoki (Dean of Faculty of Education)

Prof. Dr. Kabiraj Pokhrel (Head of Central Department of Education)

Prof. Dr. Siddhi Prasad Koirala (Chairperson, Nepal Mathematics Center)

Prof. Dr. Narayan Prasad Pahari (President, Nepal Mathematical Society)

Assoc. Prof. Dhana Kumari Thapa (President, WONiMS)

Prof. Bhadra Man Tuladhar, Mathematics Trust Nepal

Ms Linda Gojak (Past President, NCTM)

Representative of SouthWestern State College, Basundhara

- 4. Other Guests:
- 5. Greetings to the guests with garlands/Khada
- 6. Welcome Speech with high lights of the program: Prof. Dr. Lekhnath Sharma (Co-chairperson of CME)
- 7. Inauguration of the program: By Hon'ble Minister Ashok Kumar Rai (MoEST)

- 8. National Anthem: By all
- 9. Tribute to: Late Prof. Past President, MEC, Dr. Madan Man Shrestha and Late Prof. Dr. Ram Man Shrestha, Adviser MEC
- 10. Remarks over the program with best wishes: By special guests
- 11. Opening remarks: Hon'ble Minister Ashok Kumar Rai
- 12. Vote of thanks: Dr. Bheshraj Mainali(MathKind USA)
- 13. Concluding the session: Prof. Dr. Hira Bahadur Maharjan

\*\*\*\*\*

#### **Keynote Speech Program** (10:00 – 11:15)

Chair: Prof. Hira Bahadur Maharjan, Ph.D Keynote Speaker: Prof. Dr. Siddhi Prasad Koirala

Keynote Speaker: Ms. Linda Gojak, Board President Mathkind, Past-president NCTM, USA

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

## **Technical Session I (Presentation cum Workshop on Strategies for Engaged Learning)** (11:15 – 13: 15)

S. N.	Group A	Group B	Group C	Group D	Group E	Group F	Group G
	Chairperson: Prof.	Prof. Dr. Hari	Prof. Dr. Min	Prof. Dr. Narayan	Assoc. Prof.	Prof. Dr.	Prof. Dr. John
	Dr. S. P. Koirala	Prasad Upadhyay	Bahadur	Prasad Pahari	Dhan Kumari	Linda Gojak	Zhang
			Shrestha		Thapa		
	Presenter/Facilitator						
1	Linda Gojak	Jim McCue	John Zhang	Steven Leinwand	Hanna N. Haydar	Kristen	Deepak Basyal
						Chrobocinski	
2	Hilary Tanck	Brianna A. Kurtz	Arthur B. Powell	Chad Coleman & team	Jennifer Bay-	Bhesh Raj	Susan Looney
					Williams	Mainali	

**Lunch break:** 13:15 – 14:15

#### **Technical Session II (Research Presentation on Mathematics Education)** (14:15 – 16:15)

S. N.	Group A	Group B	Group C	Group D	Group E	Group F	Group G
	Chairperson:	Prof. Dr. Hari	Prof. Dr. Min	Prof. Dr. Narayan	Assoc. Prof.	Prof. Dr. Linda	Prof. Dr. John
	Prof. Dr. S. P.	Prasad Upadhyay	Bahadur Shrestha	Prasad Pahari	Dhan Kumari	Gojak	Zhang
	Koirala				Thapa		
	Presenter						

1.	Yogesh Chandna	Kharika Devi	Degan Kumar Shah	Shiva Datta Dawadi	Abatar Subedi	Shree Prd Ghimire	Ramesh Prd.
		Parajuli/BN Koirala					Awasti & team
2.	Nara Hari Acharya	Ruma Manandhar	Deepak Ghimire	Prabin Maharjan	Maheshwor	Harsh Bdr Chand	Durga Bdr Rawat
					Pokhrel		
3.	Shashidhar Belbase	Krishna Prd. Bhatta	Bhawani Pathak	Prem Kumari Dhakal	Krishna Chandra	Ram Krishna	Surendra Bdr. K.
					Paudel	Panthi	C.
4.	Bima Sapkota	Tara Paudel	Basanta Raj	Ranadhir Sah	Tika Ram Pokhrel	Sarala Luitel	Padam Bista
			Lamichhane				
5.	Bed Sharma	Janak Neupane				Janak Shrestha	Dandapani Gautam

## **Closing Session** (16:15 – 17:00)

- 1. Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Hira Bahadur Maharjan
- 2. Observation and impression of the program: Representative of Mathkind USA and participants
- 3. Distribution of the Certificate of participation in the program
- 4. Vote of Thanks: Mr. Ramesh Prasad Awasti (Vice-chairperson, CME)
- 5. Concluding the program: Chairperson

\*\*\*\*\*\*